View

The View tab displays all the data you have backed up and stored in your SpiderOak Cloud. From this tab you may do all of the following: a) download folders/files from any device; b) view all the historical versions of a particular file; c) display a folder's 'Changelog' (all of the actions that have occurred within this particular folder); d) 'Merge' data from multiple folders and multiple machines into a single folder (please see 'Merge' for additional information); and e) remove data (thus decreasing your used amount of storage).

A list of devices in your SpiderOak Network is located down the left side of the page. To navigate through the data on a specific device, you may either click on the device name or category (located under each device) on the left or move through each device by expanding the tree in the main window. Note: A specific category will not display unless the entire category is marked for backup on the Backup tab.

Below the device list is a Key informing you of the folders that are synced and/or shared. The sync folders will appear in green while the share folders will appear in purple. A mouse-over will provide additional information including the Sync or ShareRoom name as well as the folders included.

The Devices pane

Devices - A list of devices in your SpiderOak Network is located down the left side of the page. To navigate through the data on a specific device, you may either click on the category located under each device on the left or move through each device by expanding the directory tree in the main window.

The categories (Desktop, Documents, Email, Music, Pictures) will appear below each device. A category will only appear if all of the folders under that category are selected for backup on the Backup tab. Selecting a given category will display the contents in the main section of the window.

Deleted items

Deleted Items (Trash Bin) - The 'Deleted Items' or trash bin will appear below each device and houses the folders and/or files that you have deleted from your computer. As a security measure, SpiderOak will always store these items in case a folder or file was accidentally deleted. To remove them from your SpiderOak Cloud, you can select a given folder or file and click the 'Remove' button.

Historical versions

Historical Versions - SpiderOak will automatically retain historical versions of every file you edit. When looking through the data, you may notice a number in parentheses after a file [i.e. filename.doc (4)]. This number represents the number of versions stored for that document. To access any historical version, click on the file. A slide-out window will appear from the right displaying all previous versions of that file dating back to when the file was first backed up. To view a specific version, click on the corresponding date and then on the 'Download' button.

Download button

Download - You may download folders, files, and/or any historical version you like. To download any of the stored items in your SpiderOak Cloud, highlight the folder and/or file and click on the 'Download' button. The 'Download' button will appear inactive if the action is unavailable.

Remove button

Remove - You may remove (or delete) data from your SpiderOak Cloud at any time. Once an item is removed it will, of course, be unavailable within your SpiderOak Network from that point forward. By removing data you will also decrease your overall amount of storage (which is reflected in the Storage Bar). To remove data, select the folder or file you would like to remove (or delete) and click the 'Remove' button. The folder or file you have successfully deleted will be removed from the View section once the request is processed on the Status tab.

Rename button

Rename - You may rename a device by highlighting the Device and clicking on the 'Rename' button which will become active only after selecting a particular device. Two devices may not share the same name.

Changelog button

Changelog dialog

Changelog - The Changelog provides the complete journal activity within a given folder. From this display you can determine what has been added, removed, and what work was done across a specific amount of time. The Changelog is for display purposes only and no actions can be performed from inside the window.

Merge button

Merge - The Merge function is a 'point-in-time' synchronization between two or more folders across your SpiderOak Network. Similar to a Sync, Merge will analyze the journal of each folder being merged and then intelligently combine your interaction with each folder so as to not wrongly overwrite newer data with older data. Clicking the 'Merge' button will display a wizard to guide you through the merge process.

Download Manager button

Download Manager dialog

Download Manager - Clicking on the 'Download Manager' button will bring up the Download Manager. On this screen you can view what items are being downloaded as well as access the downloads folder where the data is being placed. You may also highlight a specific folder or file and open it directly by clicking on the 'Open' button. The 'Cancel' button will cease further downloading of a particular folder or file.