Preferences

The Preferences dialog will allow you personalize and define many of the characteristics that control operation within the SpiderOak client. Below we will discuss the options as they appear on each tab within the Preferences interface.

Interface Preferences

Interface - Define how SpiderOak should behave: a) when closing; b) when being launched; and c) whether or not you would like the 'splash' screen to appear at startup.

Backup Preferences

Backup - Define if SpiderOak: a) should not archive files over a certain size, b) should not archive folders older than a certain date, c) should increase or decrease the interval between manual scans, and d) should prevent specific files or folders matching certain Wildcards should be included in your backup set.

Local Copy Preferences

Copy - This feature will allow you to specify a local drive, a network folder, or your FTP or SFTP server as a secondary place to store the encrypted data blocks SpiderOak creates. This location does not need to be secure as the data blocks will remain encrypted - just as they are stored in the SpiderOak Cloud. In addition to providing a local copy of the all of the data stored within SpiderOak, this option will drastically increase large restores and downloads as SpiderOak will check with the local copy before downloading a folder or file from the SpiderOak Cloud.

Network Preferences

Network - Define how you would like to: a) make a connection to SpiderOak via a proxy server; and b) manage the amount of upload bandwidth SpiderOak has access (measured in Kilobytes per second).

General Preferences

General - Define how you would like to: a) make a connection to SpiderOak via a proxy server; and b) manage the amount of upload bandwidth SpiderOak has access (measured in Kilobytes per second).

Note - If you do disable the automatic software update, we strongly recommend you subscribe to the Release Notes RSS feed so that you can kept up to date on when new versions are released.