This article has moved to our new Help Center and will no longer be updated on this page. Please see the Help Center for the newest version.
No. SpiderOak can only upload your files when you are logged in and SpiderOak is open. This includes if the program is minimized or running in the background.
If you close SpiderOak before your upload completes and/or log out of your computer, your backup will pause until you reopen the program. When you reopen the program, your backup will resume where it left off.