What are historical versions?

Each time you modify a file in your backup set, SpiderOak saves the changed file as a new version rather than overwriting the existing file. The previous version of your file then becomes a historical version.

Historical versions only include the information that differs from the previous version; the rest of the file information deduplicates. Most historical versions take up little additional space in your account. For more information see our Deduplication FAQ.

Documents that have historical versions saved will be followed by a number in parentheses which indicates how many historical versions SpiderOak has saved For example: "file.doc (3)".

For instructions on how to delete historical versions, see our Deleting historical versions FAQ

It is not possible to set SpiderOak to not save historical versions or to limit how many versions it keeps.