Support & Knowledge Base

FAQs

Still have questions? We have answers! Check out our Frequently Asked Questions for everything you need on SpiderOak

How do I use the purge-historical-versions option

When running SpiderOak from the command line, one available option is the --purge-historical-versions option. This allows you to remove historical versions of files in your backup set according to a schedule you specify. You may use this to clean up old versions of files you no longer need, freeing up space in your account. This is a powerful feature, and care should be taken when using it, since it permanently removes data from your backup.

Please note that this command only purges historical versions from the device running the command. If you would like to purge historical versions from each of the devices in your account, you will need to run this command on those devices as well.

To run this command, please follow these instructions:

    On Mac:

  1. Completely close SpiderOak, and be sure that all SpiderOak processes have closed correctly. Open Applications, then open the Utilities folder. From here, open the "Terminal", and you will see an open window with a prompt at the bottom. In the prompt, please type:
    /Applications/SpiderOak.app/Contents/MacOS/SpiderOak --purge-historical-versions





    On Windows:

  1. Close SpiderOak
  2. Start a command prompt window by opening Start, then Run, and typing cmd.exe. This will launch the command prompt window.
  3. Copy the following text and paste it into the window, then hit enter:
    c:\"Program Files"\SpiderOak\SpiderOak.exe --purge-historical-versions
    This command may take a few minutes before it generates text, so please make sure not to close the program or reopen SpiderOak before it has completed.

The --purge-historical-versions option has three modes:

  • No argument: use the default schedule (keep one version per hour for the last 24 hours, then one version per day for 30 days, then one version per week thereafter)
  • "all": purge all historical versions (only keep the most recent version of each backed up file)
  • specifier: purge according to a schedule you specify (details below)


The specifier for setting your own schedule is an argument of the form: hM,dN,w - where M and N are numbers, specifying how many hourly and daily versions to keep, respectively. Leaving the number off (as for the "w" or weekly part of this example) means unlimited. The option also accepts (m)ontly and (y)early arguments.


    Examples:
  • --purge-historical-versions
    - keep hourly versions for 24 hours, daily for 30 days, then weekly thereafter
  • --purge-historical-versions h24,d30,w
    - keep hourly versions for 24 hours, daily for 30 days, then weekly thereafter (same as default)
  • --purge-historical-versions d60,m6,y
    - keep daily versions for 60 days, monthly for 6 months, then yearly thereafter
  • --purge-historical-versions w
    - keep weekly versions
  • --purge-historical-versions all
    - purge all historical versions

Couldn't find an answer to your question? Email our support with your question.

Have a Question?