Support & Knowledge Base

FAQs

Still have questions? We have answers! Check out our Frequently Asked Questions for everything you need on SpiderOak

How do I manually uninstall SpiderOak? How can I delete information from an old account?

SpiderOak recently changed the way our Windows uninstall feature works: it only removes your SpiderOak.exe folder and associated libraries. It no longer removes your appdata, which contains your device information, your log files, preferences files, etc.

If you want to uninstall SpiderOak for troubleshooting purpose, or if you are trying to sign on from a new account and SpiderOak is still trying to connect to your old account, all you need to do is follow this instructions.

Windows:

To uninstall SpiderOak on Windows, first close SpiderOak (otherwise you will still have scripts running which will write more information to your appdata folder). Next, choose 'Run' from your Start menu on your PC, then type %appdata% in the Open prompt box.  This will open an Explorer window called "Application Data"  which lists folders for all the applications you have installed on your computer.  There will be a folder in here named "SpiderOak": delete the SpiderOak folder.

Mac:

Your Mac remembers the credentials from your old account because the SpiderOak app data which stores your profile/user information is not stored in the same location as the SpiderOak app itself. This means that when you drag and drop SpiderOak in the trash, you're not actually uninstalling the app: you're just deleting the executable file. This is actually true for a lot of applications on Mac: it's part of how this operating system works.

To uninstall on a Mac, please open Finder and look in YOUR_USER_DIRECTORY. From there, open the Library folder, then Application Support. (To access the Library folder on Lion: 1.) Open up a Finder window 2.) From the "Go" menu, select "Go to Folder…" 3.) Enter "/Users//Library" and click "Go") Please delete or rename the SpiderOak folder.

Linux:

Please delete your ~/.SpiderOak folder.

Once you've deleted this folder, you don't have to re-download SpiderOak unless you need to update to a newer version. Start the program, and you will be prompted for your username and password as though you are installing the program for the first time.

Couldn't find an answer to your question? Email our support with your question.

Have a Question?