Support & Knowledge Base

FAQs

Still have questions? We have answers! Check out our Frequently Asked Questions for everything you need on SpiderOak

What does the deauthorize button do? When should I deauthorize a device?

The Deauthorize button cuts off access to the SpiderOak servers from a device. Once you deauthorize a device on the web, the SpiderOak application on this device will show "disconnected". You will not be able to upload or download from a deauthorized device.

If you lose a device or it is stolen, you should immediately deauthorize it so that no one can use it to access your account.

If you later recover your device, or accidentally deauthorize a device, you can re-authorize it by manually deleting your application data folder on the deauthorized device, then running SpiderOak again. SpiderOak will prompt you for your username and password when it restarts, and you can choose that you are reinstalling the deauthorized device. After syndication completes, SpiderOak will reopen and you will be able to continue using this device normally.

For instructions on how to delete your application data folder, see How do I manually uninstall SpiderOak?

Couldn't find an answer to your question? Email our support with your question.

Have a Question?