Support & Knowledge Base

FAQs

Still have questions? We have answers! Check out our Frequently Asked Questions for everything you need on SpiderOak

Help! I've lost my computer and/or all my data. How can I restore or download all my data from SpiderOak

First of all: don't panic! Remember, all your files are safely backed up to SpiderOak. You can restore anything you need. You have a few choices how to get your data back and get started backing up with SpiderOak again:

    Downloading your data from the View tab

  1. First, download and install SpiderOak on the computer where you want to restore your files. During setup, choose that you are an existing user, and enter your username and password.
  2. You now have two choices: you can set your computer as a "new" or an "existing" device. We recommend that you set your computer to be a "New Device." This way, SpiderOak will still have all of your old files saved under your "previous" device, and you will be able to use your "new" device as a blank slate to save any new or different files separately.
  3. When setup completes, open the View tab on SpiderOak. To restore your files, simply select the files you want and push the "Download" button. To select multiple files at the same time, hold down "Shift" when selecting files.

SpiderOak will prompt you whether you want to restore these files to their original locations or to download them to a new location. Choosing to restore them to their original locations lets SpiderOak do all the organizing work for you: your files will be placed back in their old locations in your files structure. If you choose to send your files to a different folder, such as your Downloads folder, you will need to manually move them to the correct locations on your file system.

Once your data is back in place, select your files for backup again so SpiderOak can continue providing you live backups. Remember: because this data is already stored on your system, all these files will deduplicate. This means the upload will complete very quickly.

If you're trying to upload information you know will deduplicate but SpiderOak is warning you that you will exceed your space limit, please open the Preferences window. Under the "Interface" tab, please check the box which says "Disable disk space calculations". This will prevent SpiderOak from estimating how much space this data will take up in your account and giving you "out of space" messages. You can now select your data for upload, and it will deduplicate before being sent to our servers.

    Downloading your data from the SpiderOak website.

  1. First, sign in to the SpiderOak website on the computer where you wish to download your data. You will need your username and password to access your account online.
  2. Once you're signed in, click the "Download" button next to the device you wish to restore. If you don't want to download the entire device at once, click the name of the device itself. This will load a list of all folders and files saved from this device. Be sure to wait a few minutes for your files to display; the larger the device, the more time it takes for your data to display.
  3. Select where to save your downloaded data, then push the download button. The website does not give you the option of restoring your data to its original location. You must either restore your folders to their original location one at a time, or move the data after it has been downloaded to your computer.

    If you've already restored your data from another source, such as a USB, all you need to do is reselect it for backup in SpiderOak

  1. First, download and install SpiderOak on the computer where you want to restore your files. During setup, choose that you are an existing user, and enter your username and password. You now have two choices: you can set your computer as a "new" or an "existing" device. Again, we recommend that you set your computer to be a "New Device."
  2. When setup completes, open SpiderOak and select your data for backup. Remember that because this data is already stored on your system, all these files will deduplicate. This means the upload will complete very quickly.

Couldn't find an answer to your question? Email our support with your question.

Have a Question?