No - the sync feature is included in our overall product offering which includes backup, sharing, remote access, and storage. For more information, please visit our pricing page: https://spideroak.com/pricing
No - not even SpiderOak employees. In fact, all SpiderOak process that are run through the client are covered under our 'zero-knowledge' privacy approach to security meaning not even the US government under threat of subpoena can access your data.
If all the files in your backup set are uploaded, the sync changes will occur very quickly. However, if there are items that remain in the backup Queue, SpiderOak will wait for these items to fully backup before it performs any of the syncs. SpiderOak behaves in this way to ensure that syncs always preserve all versions of your files.
Whichever version the user has interacted with most recently.
For example, if you deleted a file on Computer A more recently than you edited that same filename on computer B, the file will be deleted and removed from both folders. However, all is not lost as SpiderOak will still retain the file in the Recycle Bin under each device on the View tab.
Whichever version the user has interacted with most recently is known as the current version and all previous versions are located within the 'Historical Versions' for that file.
Correct - if you move a file out of a folder that is being synchronized then that file will be removed from all the folders in that sync; however, as SpiderOak never removes data from your account without your explicit action, that file will appear in the Recycle Bin under the associated device on the View tab.
To remove a file without having it affecting activities throughout a sync, you can remove the sync before committing these actions.
The file on the other machine will also be removed and placed in the Recycle Bin under the associated devices. SpiderOak will behave the same for a folder.
Yes. Sync works alongside backup - and calculates the actions to take by comparing backup journals.
In general - SpiderOak will synchronize any folders that it can backup (including network drives, external drives, USB Keys, and so on).
However, some folders might not be a good idea to synchronize -- such as application data folders. The reason for this is because many applications cannot handle having another process change their data files. These include programs like iTunes and iCal. To provide an example, you can synchronize your music folders without problem but you may have trouble synchronizing the iTunes database of songs.
In general, each application has specific rules for how this should be done and they can be quite complicated. We suggest against doing this unless you have the very specific knowledge required.
You can feel free to sync across as many devices and platforms as you like - from your Mac to your PC to your Linux box. And SpiderOak will synchronize all file types.
NOTE: The same files may appear differently on other platforms or other computers. For example, when syncing Mac OS X 'package' files, they will appear as a folder of many files on a non-Mac computer.
There are no size limitations to a file you would like to sync.
The short answer is that you cannot. SpiderOak requires that you backup the data before you can synchronize it; however, given our intense de-duplication, adding a local drive to your backup (if it has the same data contained on your local hard-drive or other computer in your SpiderOak network) will not use up additional space in your SpiderOak account as the data will simply be referenced to the external device.
The more recent file will take priority and become the active file on both machines. The older file will become a historical version which is accessible anytime on the View tab under that filename.
In this scenario, SpiderOak will specifically disallow the backup of the Local Copy. If this did not happen, this situation would create a recursive backup. HOWEVER, you may manually copy the Local Copy folder to another computer (or put it on a shared FTP server, network volume, etc...) and this will have the effect you intend. Multiple computers can share the same Local Copy destination.
Each device within SpiderOak retains its own version history.
A Merge and a Sync are completely unrelated. In each case, the logic of one has no effect on the logic of the other.